industry news

Surfer Poll and Video Awards Airs Tonight on Fuel TV at 8 PM EST

| posted on October 19, 2009

Airs Monday, Oct. 19, 2009 at 8:00 pm ET/PT

Dana Point, Calif. (Oct. 16, 2009) – If you missed out on the greatest night in surfing or are simply looking to re-live the experience, FUEL TV has got you covered.

Airing Monday, October 19, at 8:00pm ET/PT, and re-airing several more times over the next month, is the 2009 Surfer Poll & Video Awards presented by American Suzuki and the Ultimate Wave Tahiti, complete with exclusive pre and post-show interviews as only FUEL TV can do.

The 37th Annual Surfer Poll and Video Awards offered readers a chance to be a part of the Collective Voice of surfing. The event unites the world of sports, music, entertainment and philanthropy to honor the best in surfing.

By placing votes, readers determine the top 10 male and top five female surfers in the world as well as the SURFER Magazine Photo of the Year. With only 13 surfers in history ever attaining the top men’s honor, including Kelly Slater, Tom Curren, and Andy Irons, the prestigious award continues to be an exclusive club, recognizing only the best of the best.

This year also honored the recipient of a brand new category, SURFERMag.com Web Clip of the Year. In addition to naming Dr. Dave Jenkins the second recipient of the “Agent of Change” award, which honors a surfer who is making a difference for the betterment of the surfing community.

To find who took top honors, be sure to tune in to FUEL TV for their special 2009 Surfer Poll and Video Awards showcase.

2009 Surfer Poll & Video Awards Air Dates:

Monday, 10/19/2009 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT
Monday, 10/19/2009 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT
Wednesday, 10/21/2009 12:30 PM ET/9:30 AM PT
Thursday, 10/22/2009 9:30 PM ET/6:30 PM PT
Saturday, 10/24/2009 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT
Sunday, 10/25/2009 10:00 AM ET/7:00 AM PT
Sunday, 10/25/2009 7:00 PM PT/4:00 PM PT

About FUEL TV
FUEL TV is the action sports lifestyle network for skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, freestyle-motocross, and wakeboarding. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003 and is seen in 25-million U.S. homes. To subscribe to FUEL TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit www.FUEL.tv.

About SURFER
In 1960, SURFER Magazine began as the original. After a long history of delivering provocative and insightful editorial features, revealing interviews and award winning state-of-the-art photography, SURFER remains the authoritative voice of the surfing world and thus earned the moniker “the bible of the sport.” The SURFER brand has also grown to include Surfermag.com, Fantasy Surfer, The Hot 100, Wavewatch, My SURFER Cover and a myriad of SURFER message boards. All of these assets combine to make the SURFER network the most current and reliable channel of information to the surf community. The magazine is published by Source Interlink’s Action Sports Group (ASG) which reaches more than 2 million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming. www.surfermag.com

SURFER turns 50! The January 2010 issue, on sale December 1, 2009, commemorates the past 50 years of SURFER Magazine. The original surf magazine, SURFER has been the sport’s book of record and the bible of the beach lifestyle. The 50th Anniversary Issue will be a look back at SURFER’s past as well as a look forward toward the future of the lifestyle/sport we love.