industry news

FUEL TV Airs "The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy" Tonight at 6:30pm PT

| posted on December 11, 2009

Airing Friday, December 11, at 6:30pm PT / 9:30pm ET and re-airing several more times over the weekend, FUEL TV will showcase “The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau 2009.”

Massive waves at “The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy” brought out former contest winners Kelly Slater, Bruce Irons, Keone Downing, Ross Clarke-Jones and 60-year-old Clyde Aikau, as well as big-wave vets Garrett McNamara, Shane Dorian, Andy Irons, Peter Mel, Michael Ho, Greg Long, Sunny Garcia, and Grant “Twiggy” Baker. The world’s best hit the huge surf at Waimea Bay on the North Shore of Oahu going for the $98,000 purse at this, the 25th Anniversary event. Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau is the world’s longest running and most prestigious big-wave invitational.

Watch all the drama unfold through the contest as surfers post higher and higher scores, coming to conclusion with a dramatic finale as underdog Greg Long comes out of nowhere and steals the win from 9-time World Champ Kelly Slater.

The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau Air Dates:

Friday, 12/11/09 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT

Friday, 12/11/09 12:30am ET / 9:30pm PT

Saturday, 12/12/09 10:00am ET / 7:00am PT

Saturday, 12/12/09 3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT

Sunday, 12/13/09 10:00am ET / 7:00am PT

Sunday, 12/13/09 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT

Monday, 12/14/09 12:00pm ET / 9:00am PT

Tuesday, 12/15/09 6:00pm ET / 3:00pm PT