industry news

Fuel TV Air Dates Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Highlight Shows

| posted on March 15, 2010

Monday, March 15, 2010 — FUEL TV’s highlight series of the 2009 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing commences today, featuring the ultimate highs from the greatest North Shore winter in pro surfing history.

Re-live the crowning moments and dramatic twists of the million dollar series through four shows that run through the first week of April. All are in FUEL’s Monday night special programming block at
8PM ET / 5PM PT called “Meet n’ Brotatoes”. Each show will have repeat airings – please refer to your local broadcast listings or see complete listing at the bottom of this release.

Click here to watch the trailer.

March 15 – Reef Hawaiian Pro,
Haleiwa

March 22 – O’Neill World Cup of Surfing, Sunset Beach

March 29 – Billabong Pipeline Masters, Banzai Pipeline

April 5 – 2009 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Highlight Show

Airing March 15: Reef Hawaiian Pro:
Follow the early round sensations of Clay Marzo (Maui) and Tanner Gudauskas (CA). Watch Sunny Garcia (Hawaii) launch his seventh Vans Triple Crown title campaign. Aussie Joel Parkinson picks up at the first event with a warm-up to the ASP world title battle and sets out to defend his Vans Triple Crown title. Nate Yeomans (CA) and Jay Thompson (AUS) qualify for the 2010 ASP Dream Tour. Kauai’s Alana Blanchard steals the women’s show. Local boy Joel Centeio (Haleiwa) claims an emotional victory in front of his life-long home crowd of supporters.

Airing March 22: O’Neill World Cup of Surfing
O’Neill World Cup goes down in the history books with the largest waves ever contested in the 27-year history of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Santa Cruz teenager Nat Young makes good on his O’Neill wildcard to post some of highest heat scores of the event in serious surf. All three Gudauskas brothers (CA) take on each other and massive 25-foot surf as Tanner joins Pat in qualifying for the ASP Dream Tour. Sunny Garcia (HI) keeps his eye on the prize, finishing runner-up and in contention for 7th Triple Crown title. Joel Parkinson (AUS) and Mick Fanning (AUS) give a preview to the world title battle ahead at Pipe when they take on Garcia and Dusty Payne (Maui) in the final. Payne qualifies for ASP Dream Tour and Parko wins the O’Neill to join Sunny in a battle for the Triple Crown. Teenage sensation Carissa Moore shows the future of women’s surfing is in safe hands.

Airing March 29: Billabong Pipeline Masters
The drama unfolds as best ‘mates’ Joel Parkinson and Mick Fanning conclude their world title duel in high-performance waves at Pipe. Aussies make a clean sweep of the Vans Triple Threat: Fanning claims $50,000 bonus for ASP world title; Parkinson retains Vans Triple Crown title and softens the blow of world title loss with $50,000 bonus; and Taj Burrow scoops an extra $50K on top of the $40,000 Pipe Masters purse. Kelly Slater closes out the year with a second to Taj.

Airing April 5: 2009 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Highlight Show
A look back at the most important two months of every pro surfer’s season and the kind of surf that can make or break them. Free surfing and hanging out with the sport’s biggest names.

Complete Air Dates 2009 Reef Hawaiian Pro, Haleiwa
Monday, 3/15/2010 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT in Meet & Brotatoes
Monday, 3/15/2010 – 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT
Wednesday, 3/17/2010 – 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT
Thursday, 3/18/2010 – 9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT
Saturday, 3/20/2010 – 12:00 PM ET / 9:00 AM PT
Sunday, 3/21/2010 – 7:00 PM ET / 4:00 PM PT
Thursday, 3/25/2010 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT
Thursday, 3/25/2010 – 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT
Saturday, 3/27/2010 – 10:00 AM ET / 7:00 AM PT
Saturday, 3/27/2010 – 3:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM PT
Thursday, 4/8/2010 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT
Thursday, 4/8/2010 – 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT
Saturday, 4/10/2010 – 10:00 AM ET / 7:00 AM PT

Complete Air Dates 2009 O’Neill World Cup of Surfing, Sunset Beach
Monday, 3/22/2010 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT in Meet & Brotatoes
Monday, 3/22/2010 – 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT
Wednesday, 3/24/2010 – 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT
Thursday, 3/25/2010 – 9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT
Saturday, 3/27/2010 – 12:00 PM ET / 9:00 AM PT
Sunday, 3/28/2010 – 7:00 PM ET / 4:00 PM PT
Monday, 3/29/2010 – 8:00 AM ET / 5:00 AM PT
Friday, 4/2/2010 – 12:00 PM ET / 9:00 AM PT
Tuesday, 4/20/2010 – 6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT
Monday, 4/26/2010 – 8:00 AM ET / 5:00 AM PT

Complete Air Dates 2009 Billabong Pipeline Masters
Monday, 3/29/2010 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT in Meet & Brotatoes
Monday, 3/29/2010 – 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT
Wednesday, 3/31/2010 – 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT
Saturday, 4/3/2010 – 12:00 PM ET / 9:00 AM PT
Wednesday, 4/28/2010 – 8:00 AM ET / 5:00 AM PT