industry news

Alex Gray Stars In FUEL TV’s Original Series "Firsthand"

| posted on December 11, 2009

Airing Sunday, December 13, at 8:00pm Eastern Time (5:00pm Pacific Time), and re-airing several more times during the next month, pro surfer Alex Gray stars in FUEL TV’s signature 30-minute series “Firsthand.”

In this episode of Firsthand, we meet 23-year old professional surfer Alex Gray. Alex grew up in Palos Verdes, California, an area that exists in relative isolation despite its close proximity to the suburban sprawl of Los Angeles. Alex takes us on a tour of his hometown, a beautiful mix of ranches, rolling hills, and dramatic ocean views. Yet, it’s not all pristine vistas and happy times, as Alex describes how his family tragically lost his older brother just a few short years ago. Then, Alex talks about the responsibility of growing up in the South Bay, a place rich in surfing tradition.

Next, Alex grabs two of his surfing buddies (and bosses at sponsor Body Glove), Greg Browning and Scott Daley, for a quick SCUBA trip to Catalina Island, then makes a run up the coast to chase a large south swell and surf some secrets spots north of LA. Finally, Alex invites fellow pro surfers Dean Morrison and Benji Weatherley to travel with him as he ventures south to Mainland Mexico for a surgical strike on a handful of mystical pointbreaks, but unexpectedly ends up finding a perfect beachbreak instead.

Alex’s sponsors include: Volcom, Body Glove, Channel Islands Surfboards, OAM, and GO211.com.

You can watch Alex Gray’s episode of “Firsthand” on www.fuel.tv and www.hulu.com the week after it airs on FUEL TV. It will also be available to download from iTunes for $1.99.

Alex Gray’s “Firsthand” Air Dates:

Sunday, 12/13/2009 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT

Sunday, 12/13/2009 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT

Monday, 12/14/2009 9:00 AM ET/6:00 AM PT

Tuesday, 12/15/2009 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT

Wednesday, 12/16/2009 11:00 AM ET/8:00 AM PT

Friday, 12/18/2009 10:00 AM ET/7:00 AM PT

Tuesday, 12/22/2009 6:30 AM ET/3:30 AM PT

Tuesday, 12/22/2009 4:30 PM ET/1:30 PM PT

Tuesday, 12/22/2009 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT

*Will air several more times in the next month.